Lagash Periods (Lagash I and II)

The Lagash I period is also the Early Dynastic IIIb period.  The Lagash I dynasty ended with the reign of Uruinimgina (reigned 2351-2342 B.C.E.), who was defeated by Lugalzagesi of Uruk, who then controlled all of Mesopotamia (he also won Umma).

However, Lagash flourished again, particularly during the reign of Gudea (reigned c. 2141-2122 B.C.E.).


About freelibraryrbd

The Rare Book Department is in the Parkway Central Library of the Free Library of Philadelphia.
This entry was posted in Cities, Lagash, Lagash I and II Periods (c. 2570-2342 B.C.E.), Period Overview. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s